Book In Review: The Unbearable Lightness of Being

Synopsis via GoodReads: In The Unbearable Lightness of Being, Milan Kundera tells the story of a young woman in love with a man torn between his love for her and his incorrigible womanizing and one of his mistresses and her humbly faithful lover.

Interesting Tidbit: I’ve been looking for this book since 2014, and it’s finally in my possession (evil laugh). I can’t remember where I first heard about the book or Kundera, but I’m glad I did.

Fact: This book, like many of Milan Kundera’s work, is translated from Czech

Fact: Prior to the Velvet Revolution of 1989 the Communist rĂ©gime in Czechoslovakia banned his books via wiki 

First Impressions:

So the book has seven parts and I’m on Part 1: If I could summarize what I’ve read in a sentence or maybe it’s shorter than a sentence it would be: The Fear of Love, Desire For Intimacy. We’ve only been introduced to Tomas and Tereza so far, I say introduced because even though other characters are mentioned, I feel like we’ve gotten to know, become intimate, and understand them more than the other character’s mentioned. So far, Tomas seems like a “jerk in disguise” because he enjoys “erotic friendships” with no commitment, but also want/need human interaction, even if he doesn’t want to admit it and sees Tereza as dialogue: Should he invite her to stay or not, should he sleep in the bed or not, but it also seems like its Tereza’s dialogue. 

I really want to see where their relationship goes. I love the word play and choice of words:  ” A single metaphor can give birth to love” it’s simplistic but deep.

What I wish:

To figure out why Tomas seems so nonchalant about life, he reminds me of a paper bag floating through time.

Why do we, as humans, fear love but still desire intimacy 

How the heck this whole affair thing will work, he loves

Who is the main character? Someone (unknown) introduces us to Tomas and Tereza. So I wonder who the I is and what their relationship is to our two would-be lovers.

My Review: My critique, rating, answers to the above (and more), and what character I could/n’t relate to.

 

Check out the Guardian’s article on “How important is Milan Kundera today?”

One thought on “Book In Review: The Unbearable Lightness of Being

  1. Pingback: Book Review: The Unbearable Lightness of Being pt 1 | Tattle-Teller

Leave a Reply

