Book In Review: Fight Like A Girl, 50 Feminist Who Changed The World

Interesting Fact:  The book was published last year (2016) around the same time the Reproductive Justice Movement was building more momentum and following around the world.

Synopsis via Goodreads: Fight Like a Girl introduces readers to the history of feminist activism in the U.S. in an effort to celebrate those who paved the way and draw attention to those who are working hard to further the feminist cause today.

screen-shot-2015-01-07-at-12-42-20-pm

My Take: This book not only examines women of all walks of life but also reminds us that—ordinary people can create, inspire, and ultimately do extraordinary things. From fighting for the freedom for all women no matter their race, class, sexual orientation, and even “what’s written on their birth certificate” these 50 women did it all and continue to do it all. I love how the author, Laura Barcella, a Women’s Rights activist in her own right, allows the reader to dive into the lives and accomplishments many unsung and revered heroes in the history of women’s rights like Elizabeth Blackwell( the third woman in the US to receive a Medical Degree, opened a free clinic that catered to women no matter their economic status, and focus her career in gyno–teaching students the importance of women’s health). Barcella adds more detail about the women we all know, writing and allowing the reader to understand the background of the feminists and what lead them to the path of least resistance, what lead them to fight, and what lead them to embrace their authentic self, as well as, what inspires the women today to continue “The Fight For Equality” from reproductive rights, equal pay, fighting against racism and colorism, and more these women have done it all.

What I Wish: I wish the author adds more insight and detail to each women’s work and page piece, I felt like I learned more about some and not enough about others; but maybe she wants the reader to seek the truth about each Feminist on their own. You can say Fight Like A Girl is a “blueprint” and it’s up to the audience to seek out the rest.

If I could sum up what I’ve read so far (in quotes):

I am too intelligent, too demanding, and too resourceful for anyone to be able to take charge of me entirely. No one knows me or loves me completely. I have only myself

Simone De Beauvoir, Author/Philosopher and one of the 50 fighting for reproductive rights 

In my review: I’ll list the Top 3 or 7 women from the book that inspired me to be brave and fight and my critique and rating of the book

 

Thanks for visiting my blog and post. Let me know if you’ve read the book or if you plan on reading it.

Leave a Reply

