Book in Progress: The Handmaid’s Tale

I just started reading The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood, a story set in the futuristic totalitarian Republic of Gilead: following the rules of the old testament is law because of some event in the past that no one talks about (and I haven’t read that far). From what I can gather, Offred the main character is a breeder of life, literally, I think they are using the women that are called Handmaids to breed children-declining birth rates. And they have people called the Eyes and Guardians who are there to keep everyone safe. Offred the main character is a breeder of life, literally, I think they are using the women that are called Handmaids to breed children-declining birth rates. And they have people called the Eyes and Guardians who are there to keep everyone safe.

So far, both the main character and I are confused. How did she get into this situation? Apparently she had a husband, but he is either dead or missing. She’s the Handmaid to The Commander and his wife, Serena Joy doesn’t like her and vise a versa. There are people who are called Marthas but they haven’t explained what “they” are. So I think, some big rebellion happened between conservatives and the leftist and the conservatives have decided to take over and kill everyone they deem as unnatural or someone who will ruin their plan. This reminds me of Fahrenheit 451, where you weren’t allowed to read and they burned all the books, but at the end, the main character gets some sort of peace.  This also reminds me of our political system around the world, using the power to literally crush the people below and riding the world of rebels/terrorist. As confusing as the book is right now, I have high hopes. It might teach me something new OR scare me, either way, it’s going to be interesting. She’s the Handmaid to The Commander and his wife, Serena Joy doesn’t like her and vise a versa. There are people who are called Marthas but they haven’t explained what “they” are. So I think, some big rebellion happened between conservatives and the leftist and the conservatives have decided to take over and kill everyone they deem as unnatural or someone who will ruin their plan.

Stay tuned and if you’ve read the book, let me know what you thought of it.

Happy Friday

Leave a Reply

