Author Spotlight: Tupac, The Poet

MV5BMTMwMTE2ODk0NV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTYwMTE5MzQ3._V1_SX640_SY720_I like to joke with my Literary friends about how Tupac is the greatest poet who ever lived. Then comes the laughter. I’m half joking, half telling the truth. I don’t know if he’s the greatest but in my book, he’s in the Top percentage. So why is Tupac, a man who rapped about girls among other things, the first Author Spotlight in June?

Well, on my journey of finding my writing voice, I realized that there are different forms of writing and writers, and how lyricist and writers/authors have so much in common or maybe they are one in the same. I probably confused you, so let’s move on:

Tupac (1971-1996), the man who wrote about how he “Get’s Around” but also expressed his feelings and understanding of life’s sometimes harsh reality in Keep Your Head Up.

He was an amazing lyricist and activist, he expressed himself on pen and paper and used his voice to share his experience. Dear Mama,  a song about his relationship with his mom, how she raised him to be the man he is today (That’s love) or speaking about his experiences growing up, to losing friends in I Aint Mad At Cha.

Poets usually write poetry about heartache, loss, or experiences that allow them to be the person they are or someone they hope to be and that is what Tupac did. This is why he is this week’s Author Spotlight. I could write a whole review on Tupac the lyrical genius but I will stop right here.

I hope you enjoyed this interesting Author Spotlight and have a great Tuesday!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Author Spotlight: Tupac, The Poet

  1. He’s definitely a poet. Laureate, even. Rap, in many ways is just poetry. And the greats, the Pacs, Biggies, Puns, and Eminems of the game pay great attention to the craft. Taking it much higher than just words over beats. Thanks for the post!

Leave a Reply

