Book Review: Big Magic

In Big Magic:

Elizabeth Gilbert examines her own creative life and our own. She does what many great storytellers do-connect fantasy with reality. She explores concepts of creativity and fear with sub-headings on weaknesses, boredom, bravery, and imagination.  She tells the reader that they can be anything they want. Not to believe the hype, and to remember-There are billions of people in the world with your same idea, but that should not deter you from following your dream. My personal favorite is “transferred” her idea of a woman having an affair and moving to the Amazon to  Ann Patchett, an author via a kiss. Or maybe is when she explained how her parents no matter where they lived or how they lived. Did and became whatever that wanted to be.

I give this book a 5/10 rating. While I enjoyed Gilbert’s lessons on life and how she intertwined her life, our lives, and fantasies, the underlining message was lost to me by ( 1/3 ) of the book. The question is: Can you really be whatever you want to be? Yes! Even if you fear failure, one must at least try. But, and this is a big BUT, I felt like her book and her explanation of how she became a writer and achieved everything was elitist. I’m not saying, you must have money to be creative or become a writer and Gilbert lets it be known the same; you don’t need to be rich to become great. BUT her ” I was grappling with fear, I learned to be great” sections sounded a little elitist and I could not relate to her or the book at times. I felt like I had a love-hate relationship with this book, I loved the lessons on “being you” and owning your own creativity, but I disliked Gilbert’s commentary and shallow advice.  I have to admit, this is the first book since King Lear that I had to skip some of the pages (which I rarely d0). Maybe the saying, “when you don’t like someone or something, it’s because you see a trait in yourself that you dislike” OR maybe, I’m not the audience Gilbert is writing for. Either way, I give the book: 5/10

Thank you, if you’ve read Big Magic please let me know what you thought of it.

HAPPY FRIDAY!  Hope you have a fantastic weekend.

Leave a Reply

