Author Spotlight: Amy Tan

001ec979096310675fba14 The Joy Luck Club and The Bonesetter’s Daughter, are two of my favorite books from Amy Tan’s collections.

Amy Tan is this month’s Author Spotlight, she’s a best-selling author and like me, she’s a first generation American. I think that’s why I could relate to her and her books, also, every time I read one of her books I feel like I’ve been transported back in time and I’ve become one of her characters:

While reading The Valley of Amazement, I became Violet- a lost child (she had no sense of identity), I felt everything Violet did and I enjoyed every moment. As a first generation American with immigrant parents, I understood the struggles of each daughter from the Joy Luck Club and it gave me some insight on how my mother felt raising me in a completely different world/culture from her own.

Amy Tan is not only an author, but she’s a Storyteller. Every word she says has this form of healing power that all Storyteller have. At the end of every Amy Tan book, you feel a sense of peace and tranquility. To sum it all up, this is one of my favorite Amy Tan quote’s via Brainquotes

Writing is an extreme privilege, but it’s also a gift. It’s a gift to yourself and it’s a gift of giving a story to someone.

Amy Tan’s website: https://www.amytan.net/

*Sidenote- I might add Amy Tan’s Rules For Virgins on my books to read list.

 

Leave a Reply

