Book in Progress: Americanah

Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie is basically the story of my life, IF:

I was Nigerian, moving back to my home country from the States, trying to find myself, maybe getting together with my ex who is now married to a woman he technically doesn’t love, and working for a magazine, Oh and trying to find myself (THAT’S THE MAIN POINT).

That is Americanah in a nutshell, add the beautiful Lagos, Nigeria as the backdrop and reminiscing about military dictatorship- with a hint of cross cultural relationships and you’ve got one amazing story.

My Thoughts:

So far so good. I love the transition between Ifemelu’s last days in the U.S and her email connection to Obinze in Nigeria. Adichie does a great job connecting all the characters. I just started the book. I am only on chapter 3, so I can’t really go into detail, but I have high hopes for Ifemelu and the story in general.

 

One thought on “Book in Progress: Americanah

Leave a Reply

