Childhood Heroes

When you think about your childhood heroes who or what comes to mind? Are they fictional or historical figures? Like Batman, Superman, or MLK?

Childhood heroes always seem supernatural, they’re what we hope to someday become. Now, me as a child–I have to say, I had some unconventional heroes, nothing weird just unconventional.

My heroes were amazing women, warriors, and revolutionaries:

Marie Curie: 

Madame Curie was a chemist and physicist who was a pioneer in radioactivity research for cancer. She was my favorite, I even got in trouble for repeatedly talking about her and presenting her to my class. From second grade to fifth grade, I wanted to be her.  She was a go getter. The first woman to win a Nobel Peace Prize, which she won twice (ONLY person to). She was such an amazing woman who, discovered new chemical elements and used new techniques to investigate samples. She died from exposure to radiation, but even so, she died doing what she loved and her methods and all her research are being used today to save lives. #EndoSister

Yuri Kochiyama: (High Schoo/College Hero)

After my Marie Curie stage in elementary school, I decided I needed more childhood heroes, even though I didn’t my time focusing on Yuri, I have to add her on this list. Many people may not know this, but Yuri was Malcolm X’s right hand person, she was an activist during the civil rights era and continued until her death. What I admired about her was she not only was a force to be reckoned with during the Black Civil Rights movement, she was an empowering figurehead in the Asian American Movement in the 1960’s. She was like SUPERWOMAN to me, born to Japanese immigrants, Yuri understood the struggles of immigrants in the U.S as well as, someone of color. She was A WOMAN WITH A VOICE.

Nana Yaa Asantewaa: 

Asantewaa1-e1412708958802Nana Yaa Asantewaa is the Queen Mother of the Ashanti tribe in Ghana. I grew up hearing her name, seeing drawings of her, and witnessing other little Ghanaian girls wearing her clothes. She led the rebellion against British colonization. Which the British found odd because the person in charge was a woman. Ghanaian girls, well this is just my view of my own culture, but we are brought up to lead and command. And that’s what Yaa was, she was a leader, a mother, politician, activist, a warrior, she is everything I strive to be.

Many people may not know these women, but to me, they are amazing role models and leaders of their time. I hope the next generation of girls can look up to women just like these and just like me, hope to one day be as courageous as they were.

 

 

One thought on “Childhood Heroes

  1. Pingback: Author’s/People Spotlight: Yuri Kochiyama – Tattle-Teller

Leave a Reply

